If you are one of the thousands of people who have decided to move to Florida each year, you may be interested in knowing what the minimum hourly wage is in this state. In North County Tribune we tell you
Even before the pandemic began, the state of Florida was already one of the favorite destinations for Americans. Between 2019 and 2021, more than 500,000 people moved to Florida, according to calculations by the James Madison Institute, making it one of the main receiving states for national and international migrants. If you are one of them, you are probably interested to know, then, what is the minimum wage of the so-called Shining Sunshine State.
The minimum hourly wage in the state of Florida is $10.00 per hour (which implies a minimum wage of $400 per week and $20,800 per year), a minimum wage higher than the federal minimum wage, which is $7.25 dollars per hour.
This salary was established in 2008, when it was increased by $3.21 dollars per hour (at that time, the salary was $6.79 dollars per hour).
However, you should know that on September 30, the minimum wage in Florida will increase to $11 dollars per hour. This as part of the state’s financial planning that estimates to bring Florida’s minimum wage to $15 dollars per hour by the year 2026.
On the other hand, the minimum wage for tipped workers in Florida is $6.98 per hour, and is expected to increase to $7.98 per hour on September 30.
What workers are exempt from earning the minimum wage in Florida?
In addition to tipped workers, there are two categories of workers who are not required to earn the minimum wage in Florida under state law.
For example, employers in Florida can pay less than the minimum wage (up to $4.25 per hour) to employees under 20 years of age for the first 90 days of work.
Also, school or college students who work part-time (ie, 20 hours a week) can earn $8.5 per hour.
In all other cases, employers are prohibited from paying their employees less than the established minimum wage.
What is the hourly minimum if my job exceeds the 40 hour work week?
All workers who work more than 40 hours a week can earn up to $15 per hour, according to the Fair Labor Act (FLSA). To be more exact, each hour of extra work is paid 1.5 times more expensive than the regular hour.
In the event employers fail to pay these hours adequately, workers may file an unpaid overtime claim with the Florida Department of Labor.