Sunday, December 4, 2022
No menu items!

Minimum Wage: What is the Hourly Minimum in New Mexico

Must Read

At North County Tribune we tell you what the minimum hourly wage is in New Mexico, as well as the salary of workers who receive tips

New Mexico is one of the states that has gained more media popularity in recent years, especially for becoming the setting for some of the most successful and highest-quality television series of all time. Likewise, the cultural variety of this state, as well as its low cost of living, have made it the ideal entity for a large part of the Latino community in the United States. If you have chosen New Mexico as a possible life destination, you have probably asked yourself: what is the minimum hourly wage in this state?

The minimum hourly wage in New Mexico is $11.50 per hour, higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour.

This is the minimum pay for all employees in this state, with the exception of tipped workers, part-time students, and workers in training programs.

For tipped workers, the minimum wage is set at $2.80 per hour, although they must earn $11.50 per hour including tips. Student workers are entitled to earn $9.78 per hour if they work part time, that is, 20 hours a week.

On the other hand, there are certain cities and municipalities in New Mexico that have established their own minimum wages, among which are:

  1. Albuquerque: $11.50 per hour (although it can be $10.50 per hour if the employer provides benefits such as health and child care insurance). Tipped workers, on the other hand, have a minimum hourly wage of $6.90.
  2. Santa Fe: $12.95 per hour.
  3. Santa Fe County: $12.95 for another. Tipped workers have a minimum hourly wage of $3.69.
  4. Las Cruces: $10.50 per hour.

New Mexico labor law further provides that workers under the age of 18, domestic employees, government workers, and agricultural workers are exempt from the state’s minimum hourly wage. Other than these exceptions, all workers are entitled to earn the stated minimum hourly wage as provided by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).

The full-time workweek is 40 hours, and any additional hours can be charged at $17.25, in accordance with New Mexico law. In the event that a worker works overtime and is not paid properly, they can file a claim with the New Mexico Department of Labor.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News

Brazil’s coffee crop in 2023 will be 50-56 million bags, according to a report

Brazilian farmers will produce a minimum of 50 million and a maximum of 56 million bags of coffee next...

More Articles Like This